Rajasthan, meaning “The Abode of the Rajas,” was formerly called Rajputana, “The Country of the Rajputs” (sons of rajas [princes]).  Rajasthan is a largest Indian state by area and the seventh largest by  population. Rajasthan is Located on the northwestern side of India, Where it comprises most of wide & inhospitable Thar Desert( also Knows as the  “Great Indian Desert”.

There are several regions of rajasthan based on the language(primary reason) and culture. Basically there are 33 districts in rajasthan but one can separate them on the basis of language and culture.

Consists of the western Rajasthan districts like- “Jodhpur , Bikaner, naguar, Jaisalmer” etc. People of this part use “Marwari” language for conversation. 

one can assume it a central part of Rajasthan & it includes “Jaipur, Tonk and near by area of Jaipur (i.e. some part of Dausa and Alwar)”.Dhundhar is the language which is used by locals. Capital of Rajasthan Jaipur is the part of this region.

The area including “Udaipur, Chittorgarh, Bhilwara, Bijoliya,  Sirohi, Rajsamand” southern part of rajasthan” is called Mewar. Mewari is the language which is widely spoken in this area.

Area including Karauli, dholpur, bharatpur, Alwar (upto viratnagar and except mewat region), Sawaimadhopur (most of the part),dausa is Called matsya region.

This area includes Bundi, Kota, Jhalawar, Bara districts of rajasthan. major castes are Gurjar, meena, Dhakad, Rajputs.

This area includes Sikar, jhunjhunu, churu, pilani, hanumangarh etc. Major communities are Jat(major), rajputs, gurjar , rebari etc.

 This name was derived from a tribe called “MER” which was living in this area in ancient times. Ajmer , tonk etc.

This is a small portion of Alwar district in which MEO community is living. The area around Haryana border is sometime Referred as Mewat.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *